The GLC Plan –Including Building Tower Blocks

The LCC, and later the Greater London Council, (GLC), divided the 10 streets of 850 properties into four areas.
Area A was demolished in the mid 1960s and in its place the GLC built the Elgin Estate. This consisted of two tower blocks, Hermes and Chantry Points, each containing 101 flats, and Athens and Kincardine Gardens, low-rise blocks with a total of 96 flats.

Area B was partly rehabilitated, partly demolished and partly sold off.

Area C, now known as the Walterton Estate, was 'reconditioned' in the late 1960s to give a 15-year life.

Area D was eventually demolished and in 1974 new low-rise homes were constructed in brick and named the Lyford Estate

The site divided into sections by the LCC


Page 202
Page 204
Updated July 5, 2011